Popular searches

RideLondon takes place from 27 to 29 May 2022. Find out more about the 100-mile ride!

The stages

The stages of the RideLondon Classique

The 2022 RideLondon Classique, part of the UCI Women’s WorldTour, was the greatest version of the event yet. It featured three unmissable races – or stages – on three unique courses across London and Essex from Friday 27 to Sunday 29 May.

The courses were designed to produce an exciting and challenging three days of racing for the world’s best riders – not to mention a thrilling spectacle for fans watching both on the roadside and on television.

Watch the video below to hear all about the twists, turns, challenges and opportunities of each stage from Scott Sunderland, Race Director of the RideLondon Classique.

Stage One

  • Date: Friday 27 May 2022
  • Start: Maldon, 11:00
  • Finish: Maldon, 14:30 – 14:50 

A coastal town with a long maritime history, Maldon once stood as a bastion against raiding Viking forces in the Battle of Maldon in AD 991. Fast-forward to today and this beautiful spot is known for its collection of Thames Sailing Barges that cluster around Hythe Quay – not to mention its world-famous Maldon Sea Salt.

Stage Two

  • Date: Saturday 28 May 2022
  • Start: Chelmsford, 11:00
  • Finish: Epping, 14:30 – 15:00

The county city of Essex, Chelmsford is best known for being the birthplace of radio thanks to its connection with Guglielmo Marconi, who opened the world's first wireless factory there in 1899. Chelmsford was granted City status in 2012 at part of The Queen's Diamond Jubilee celebrations.

Stage Three

  • Date: Sunday 29 May 2022
  • Start: Victoria Embankment, 15:45
  • Finish: Victoria Embankment, 17:35 – 17:50

Where better to wrap up the three-day RideLondon Classique than the heart of London? A multi-lap circuit race, the final stage will see riders start and finish on Victoria Embankment and pass some of the capital's most famous streets along the way, from Piccadilly to Pall Mall.

2022 RideLondon Classique classifications

In addition to the glory of winning a stage, the 2022 RideLondon Classique riders had six classifications to compete for. Click on the classifications below to find out more about the jerseys that were on offer at this year’s race.

  • The most sought-after prize in the race is the Leader’s Jersey for the rider on top of the General Classification (GC).

    The GC is simply a list of riders sorted by how quickly they have completed each stage. The rider with the shortest amount of time accumulated wears the Leader’s Jersey.

    Riders can reduce their overall time with ‘time bonuses’, available on each stage at the following points:

    - Stage Finish: riders finishing in first, second and third place on each stage receive bonuses of 10, six and four seconds
    - Sprint points: there are six sprint competitions over the three stages. Time bonuses of three seconds, two seconds and one second are available to the first, second and third riders at each of these points

    The rider with the shortest accumulated time after the end of Stage Three will be crowned the overall victor of the 2022 RideLondon Classique.
  • The Ford Queen of the Mountains jersey is worn by the rider who has accumulated the most points over five ‘mountain’ competitions across the three stages. Of course, Essex and London are not exactly famed for mountains, so the inclines are more akin to hills and there are two on Stage One and three on Stage Two.

    Each of the five competitions has five points on offer for the first five riders to cross the line – five for the first over the line, four for second, three for third, two for fourth and one for fifth.

    The rider with the most accumulated points after each stage will wear the Ford Queen of the Mountains jersey the next day, and the rider with the most points after all three stages wins the overall Ford Queen of the Mountains competition.

    The Ford Queen of the Mountains competitions are:

    - Stage One: Spring Elms Lane, Little Baddow (at 101.2K)
    - Stage One: Spring Elms Lane 2, Little Baddow (at 122.9K)
    - Stage Two: Mount End/Tawney Common, Epping (at 98.2K)
    - Stage Two: Mount End/Tawney Common, Epping (at 113K)
    - Stage Two: Houblons Hill, Coopersale, Epping (at 132.1K)
  • The Sprints Classification will be won by the rider who has accumulated the most points over six sprint competitions and the three stage finishes.

    The sprints leader’s jersey will be worn on Stage Two and Stage Three by the rider with the most points in the competition, while the overall winner will be presented with the jersey after the final stage in London.

    Points in the Sprints Classification are available at the end of each stage, with point scores of 10, six, four, two and one available for the first five finishers.

    Additional points of three, two and one are available to the first three riders to cross the line at the following sprint competitions during the three stages:

    - Stage One: Maldon High Street (at 92.9K)
    - Stage One: Maldon High Street (at 114.7K)
    - Stage Two: Great Dunmow (at 57.7K)
    - Stage Two: High Street, Epping (at 92.9K)
    - Stage Three: Victoria Embankment, London (at 25.3K)
    - Stage Three: Victoria Embankment, London (at 55.3K)
  • The Best British Rider classification is for the British rider who finishes the three stages highest in the General Classification – ie the British rider with the shortest accumulated time over the three stages.
  • The Best Young Rider classification is for the best rider aged under 23 in the General Classification.
  • The Team Classification will be decided by adding up the General Classification times of each team’s top three riders. The team with the shortest accumulated prize will win the competition.